UDC logo

Oran M. Roberts

Oran M. Roberts

Chapter 440

United Daughters of the Confederacy®

Houston, Harris County, Texas

dixie bar

of the
36th Annual Convention of the Texas Division
United Daughters of the Confederacy

Abilene, Texas
6-9 December 1932

Oran M. Roberts Chapter, No. 440, Houston

[p. 99]

In Memoriam

Mrs. Margaret Arnold

[Chapter Report - p. 169-170]


Mrs. C. F. Nolen - President
Mrs. J. W. Bray - 1st Vice President
Mrs. J. W. Wilkinson - 2nd Vice President
Mrs. Laura Dennis - 3rd Vice President
Mrs. Earl Maughmer - 4th Vice President
Mrs. H. G. Sandland - Recording Secretary
Mrs. C. P. Kennedy - Corresponding Secretary
Mrs. T. B. Herbert - Historian
Mrs. M. C. Bauguss - Treasurer
Mrs. Lawson Pool - Registrar
Mrs. M. E. Sparks - Custodian
Mrs. B. K. Bering - Recorder of Crosses

Members who have changed their names:

Mrs. S. L. Rogers (Mrs. J. G. Bell)
Mrs. A. D. Martin (Mrs. J. E. Buckley)

Honorary Members:

A. L. Knolle
Samuel S. Hill
Ewing Boyd
Dan Garrett
Lon Smith
P. D. Studdert
Will Dyer
H. Wilkins
J. W. Neal
Mrs. E. Bates
Miss Florence Thornton
J. W. Wilkinson
Mrs. Jane Rogers
Mrs. M. E. Davis
Mrs. B. B. Knolle

Members at last report, 151; members demitted, 1; new members, 2; deceased members, 1; honorary members, 15; present membership, 127; per capita tax paid state division, $37.50; per capita tax paid general U.D.C., $25; Assistant Custodian Tax, $18.75; Texas museum tax, $1; Texas room tax $1; total contributions to all funds, $107.43.

Our Chapter has closed a very satisfactory year, financially and with loving service to our remaining Veterans. Providing monthly dinners and Christmas parties with gifts. Private cars and large buses being furnished for their transportation to all entertainments. We raised the sum of $24 and assisted S.C.V. in present Com. Moody with a new uniform.

We assisted other Houston U.D.C. Chapters and patriotic organization in the following projects: two lovely teas, one to honor Mr. R. S. Henry, author of the Story of the Confederacy and the other to the D.A.R. during the Convention. We donated $2.50, 5-gallons of chocolate milk and 100 sandwiches to the disabled war Veterans' children at Christmas. Donated $22.50 towards the marker erected in Brazoria County to the memory of Albert Sidney Johnston; also participated in the dedication services.

We observed all Confederate holidays, presented eight Crosses of Honor and drove Veterans in parade on Armistice Day; observed Memorial Day on April 26th with distinguished visitors; we gave assistance and $6 cash to an aged stranger, a Veteran who fell by the wayside at LaPorte, Texas, sending him to a hospital for attention.

We have kept our pledges, amounting to $42.50 for the year; total spent for other donations to Texas Division and funds, $175.


Archer, S. R., Mrs.
Arthur, Tom, Mrs.
Ayres, J. K., Mrs.
Baker, J. M., Mrs.
Barnette, J. B., Mrs.
Bartlett, H. A., Mrs.
Bauguss, M. C., Mrs.
Beaubien, D. M., Mrs.
Bering, B. K., Mrs.
Binford, Raymes, Mrs.
Birkmen, C. H., Mrs.
Blohm, G. E., Mrs.
Brady, F. E., Mrs.
Bray, J. W., Mrs.
Brown, E. H., Mrs.
Buckley, Jim, Mrs.
Bybee, Charles, Mrs.
Campbell, A. M., Mrs.
Campbell, S. J., Mrs.
Cannon, Ray, Mrs.
Carter, N. S., Mrs.
Clark, W. F., Mrs.
Cole, W. J., Mrs.
Collier, R. F., Mrs.
Cox, I. A., Mrs.
Davidson, J. L., Mrs.
Davis, M. E., Mrs.
Day, L. L., Mrs.
Dennis, J. A., Mrs.
Dortic, Catherine, Miss
Dwyer, C. L., Mrs.
Eberspecher, Fred, Mrs.
Flynn, Jack, Mrs.
Fox, J. S., Mrs.
Bant, T. J., Mrs.
Gatlin, H. W., Mrs.
Giessler, C. A., Mrs.
Gilbert, C. E., Mrs.
Gilbert, E., Miss
Gilbert, J. G., Miss
Gordon, C. C., Mrs.
Guild, C., Mrs.
Harrington, H. F., Mrs.
Harris, Mrs. A. G.,
Harris, E. G., Mrs.
Harris, G. R., Mrs.
Hedrick, Jesse, Mrs.
Heiman, B. J., Mrs.
Herbert, T. B., Mrs.
Heyne, W. C., Mrs.
Hill, E., Mrs.
Hooper, Margaret, Miss
Hooper, O. O., Mrs.
Hope, G. G., Mrs.
Howard, James W., Mrs.
Hutchinson, Katie, Miss
Hyndman, J., Mrs.
James, F., Mrs.
Kennan, W. S., Mrs.
Kennedy, C. P., Mrs.
Kennedy, Katherine, Miss
Kessler, P. J., Mrs.
Knolle, B. B., Mrs.
Krick, E. P., Mrs.
Lane, P. E., Mrs.
Lawrence, A. B., Mrs.
Long, H., Mrs.
Lovejoy, S. O., Mrs.
Markley, D., Mrs.
Marrett, R. J., Mrs.
Mashin, H. L., Mrs.
Maughmer, Earl, Mrs.
McCaine, George, Mrs.
McLean, Sadie, Miss
Monroe, R. H., Mrs.
Mullinex, S. O., Mrs.
Nevill, F. I., Mrs.
Nichols, M., Mrs.
Nolen, F. C., Mrs.
Patillo, H. P., Mrs.
Perry, George, Mrs.
Ponnish, F. J., Mrs.
Pool, Lawson, Mrs.
Pybus, F. R., Mrs.
Quinn, J. J., Mrs.
Reynolds, C. A., Mrs.
Roberts, E. C., Mrs.
Robertson, Josie Miss
Rogers, J. P., Mrs.
Rogers, Jane, Mrs.
Ruddersdorf, John, Mrs.
Sandland, H. G., Mrs.
Sayre, F. A., Mrs.
Scherfius, H. E., Mrs.
Schneider, J., Mrs.
Scott, John F., Mrs.
Shepherd, R. E., Mrs.
Shulte, W. B., Mrs.
Shultz, M. D., Mrs.
Simon, T. F., Mrs.
Sink, Claude B., Mrs.
Smith, E. F., Mrs.
Smith, W. Mrs.
Smith, W. R., Mrs.
Souter, T. N., Mrs.
Sparks, M. E., Mrs.
Staples, A. J., Mrs.
Stephens, R. S., Mrs.
Stitt, B. N., Mrs.
Tarver, Charles, Mrs.
Taylor, R. A., Mrs.
Thompson, J. M., Mrs.
Thrailkill, J. J., Mrs.
Townsend, H. E., Mrs.
Turner, C., Mrs.
Vaught, T. C., Mrs.
Waddell, J. W., Mrs.
Waddell, R. S., Mrs.
Wallace, Robert, Mrs.
Watson, C. E., Mrs.
Whiff, L. Mrs.
Wilkinson, J. W.,
Wilson, Tom, Mrs.
Wood, M. A., Dr.
Woodward, W. H., Mrs.
Zumwalt, A. C., Mrs.

dixie bar

Return to Main Page

This webpage was created on 29 Sept 2008 and was last revised on ______________

Copyright © 2006 - All rights reserved

On 12 July 1994 our name "United Daughters of the Confederacy" was officially approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States and may not be used without the express written permission of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, 328 North Boulevard, Richmond,
VA 23220-4057.

On 26 July 1994 our insignia (logo) was also approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States. Therefore they are not to be used without permission and when displayed must have the copyright symbol. As stated in the 1997 UDC Bylaws on page 41, Article 34 Insignia Section 2, a & b.

Webmaster & Website Owner - Lynna Kay Shuffield