UDC logo

Oran M. Roberts

Oran M. Roberts

Chapter 440

United Daughters of the Confederacy®

Houston, Harris County, Texas

dixie bar

of the
30th Annual Convention of the Texas Division
United Daughters of the Confederacy

Dallas, Texas
6-9 Dec 1926

Mrs. Forrest H. Farley, President

Mrs. J. Carter Bardin, Recording Secretary

Oran M. Roberts Chapter, No. 440, Houston

In Memoriam [p. 69]

Mrs. Sue Holland Staples
[Died: 2 March 1925, Harris Co., TX]

Chapter Report [p. 135-136]

Members last report, 85; members demitted, 1; new members 11; Honorary members, 12; present membership 91. Per capita tax paid State, $18.20; per capita tax paid General, $18.20; Texas Room tax $1; Richmond Museum tax, $1; total contributions to all funds, $123.40.

Have placed evergreen wreaths on the graves of our departed veterans and sent flowers to our sick and bereaved members. We give the members of our camp a birthday dinner once a month. Observed memorial day, with appropriate program and decorated the graves of our Confederate dead with flowers, also, had a program and picnic dinner on the anniversary of the Battle of Sabine Pass. Have presented four pictures of Confederate generals to public schools, one to the new Carnegie Library and one to the Hospital of the Confederate Home in Austin. Have presented four Crosses of Honor.

Three Houston Chapters entertained Mrs. W. E. Muse, First Vice President Texas Division, with a luncheon at the Warwick.

Mrs. Hubert and Mrs. Nelson were field workers for the Stone Mountain Memorial Coin Drive for which they each received a gold coin in appreciation.


Mrs. T. B. Herbert, President
Mrs. B. B. Knolle, First Vice President
Mrs. Hattie S. Hatch, Second Vice President
Mrs. Jane Rogers, Third Vice President
Mrs. Tom Wilson, Mrs. Louisa Krick, Recording Secretary
Mrs. A. J. Staples, Corresponding
Mrs. Betty Kaufhold, Treasurer
Mrs. Amelia Wallace, Registrar
Miss Merie Nevill.

Honorary Members

General J. C. Foster
Hon. Lon A. Smith
D. E. Garrett
P. J. Studdert
W. L. Dyer
Judge E. Boyd
H. Wilkins
J. W. Neal
Mrs. E. B. Bates
Mrs. A. Bruce
Miss Florence Thronton

Members Changing Names

Miss Minnie K. Wooldridge to Mrs. Warren Smith
Miss Ada Kennedy to Mrs. Ada E. Scherffins


Arnold, Margaret, Miss
Arnold, Vic G., Mrs.
Backus, Edna, Mrs.
Barnett, Oldham, Mrs.
Bentley, Ellen Newcomb, Mrs.
Birkman, C. H., Mrs.
Bono, Beulah, Mrs.
Brooks, Beulah Cook, Mrs.
Brown, Agnes, R., Mrs.
Broy, Gussie Mae, Mrs.
Bruns, Emma, Mrs.
Bybee, Chas., Mrs.
Callier, Jennie, Mrs.
Campbell, Carrie B., Mrs.
Carlisle, M. D., Mrs.
Chatham, W. L., Mrs. Cook, Irma, Mrs.
Davidson, Della, Mrs.
Davis, Eric T., Mrs.
Davis, Mary E., Mrs.
Davis, Polly, Miss
Dean, Nela, Miss
Dirr, Leonora F., Mrs.
Dortic, Kathryn, Miss
Dyer, Anna, Mrs.
Erwin, M. S., Mrs.
Gallatin, Stella W., Mrs.
Godbolt, Mrs.
Gordon, C. C., Mrs.
Gradfins, W. N., Mrs.
Guinn, Margaret, Miss
Hamblett, Dora W., Mrs.
Harris, Glendon R., Mrs.
Hatch, Hattie S., Mrs.
Heiman, B. J., Mrs.
Hennesy, May, Mrs.
Herbert, Alma, Mrs.
Herbert, T. B., Mrs.
Hill, Trixie Woodson, Mrs.
Holcombe, Oscar F., Mrs.
Howard, T. M., Mrs.
Humphrey, May La Pyre, Mrs.
Hunter, Elizabeth, Mrs.
Hyndman, John, Mrs.
Jackson, Annie Laurie, Mrs.
Jackson, Margaret F., Mrs.
Jones, Fannie, Mrs.
James, Edna W., Mrs.
Kaufhold, Bettie, Mrs.
Kennedy, Annie M., Mrs.
Knolle, B. B., Mrs.
Krick, Louise, Mrs.
Long, Harris, Mrs.
Markley, Harriet, Mrs.
Matthews, Olive Rouse, Mrs.
McAmis, B., Mrs.
McCain, Estelle B., Mrs.
Meyers, Frank W., Mrs.
Morris, Martha T., Mrs.
Mullinix, S. O., Mrs.
Nelson, F. A., Miss
Nevill, F. I., Mrs.
Nevill, Merle, Miss
Nolen, F. C., Mrs.
Perry, Hettie H., Mrs.
Powers, Ira T., Mrs.
Quinn, J. I., Mrs.
Rice, H. B., Mrs.
Robinson, Josie, Miss
Rogers, Cassie, Mrs.
Rogers, J. P., Mrs.
Rogers, Jane, Mrs.
Scherffins, Ada K., Mrs.
Schneider, Dora, Mrs.
Simon, L. F., Mrs.
Shindler, Effie, Mrs.
Smith, Warren, Mrs.
Snelling, Kate, Mrs.
Staples, J. A., Mrs.
Stephens, Bettie, Mrs.
Tarver, Nellie H., Mrs.
Tolbert, Willie Lee, Miss
Wallace, Amelia, Mrs.
West, Dorothy, Miss
Wiggins, Chas., Mrs.
Wilkinson, Minnie, Miss
Wilkinson, Elise, Miss
Williams, Annie, Mrs.
Wilson, Tom, Mrs.
Zumwalt, M. A., Mrs.

Associate Members

Howard, Grace, Miss
Simon, Emma, Miss

dixie bar

Return to Main Page

This webpage was created on 13 Aug 2006 and was last revised on __________

Copyright © 2006 - All rights reserved

On 12 July 1994 our name "United Daughters of the Confederacy" was officially approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States and may not be used without the express written permission of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, 328 North Boulevard, Richmond,
VA 23220-4057.

On 26 July 1994 our insignia (logo) was also approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States. Therefore they are not to be used without permission and when displayed must have the copyright symbol. As stated in the 1997 UDC Bylaws on page 41, Article 34 Insignia Section 2, a & b.

Webmaster & Website Owner - Lynna Kay Shuffield