UDC logo

Oran M. Roberts

Oran M. Roberts

Chapter 440

United Daughters of the Confederacy®

Houston, Harris County, Texas

dixie bar

of the
23rd Annual Convention of the Texas Division
United Daughters of the Confederacy

Reports of 1918-1919
Directory 1920

Longview, Texas
21-24 October 1919

Mrs. Oscar Barthold, President
Mrs. Mathias Menger, Secretary

Oran M. Roberts Chapter, No. 440, Houston, Texas

In Memoriam

Miss Jennie Criswell

Chapter Report [p. 192]

Members at Last Report: 110; new members: 6; honorary members: 4; present membership: 119. Per capita tax paid state division, $23.20; per capita tax paid General UDC, $11.60; Texas room tax, $1; total tax sent state treasurer, $35.80.

The Chapter held nine business meetings and 10 historical meetings throughout the year. Under the guidance of our able Historian, Mrs. F. I. Nevill, our historical exercises have been enjoyable and instructive. Veterans are urged to attend these meetings. The historian has worked earnestly getting historical papers, in an effort to bring the cup to Houston.

Flowers have been sent to all sick veterans and daughters. In every way possible we have tried to spread a little sunshine along their path.

All financial pledges have been paid. To the education fund, $35; hero fund, $10. Dick Dowling monument fund, $10. Also gave $5 toward the funeral of a veteran’s wife.

Our regular New Year’s reception to all veterans and daughters was given as usual, at the home of Mrs. J. W. Wilkinson where all enjoyed true Southern hospitality. All meetings have been well attended throughout the year. Entertained the veterans three times during the season with Majestic parties. Chapter assisted in the Liberty Loan drives, also the other Chapters with Red Cross work. Bought one $100 Liberty Bond, assisted the Camp in celebrating the Battle of Sabine Pass with a picnic at Hermann Park.


Mrs. B. B. Knolle - President
Mrs. Mrs. W. Taylor - First Vice President
Mrs. H. Hatch - Second Vice President
Mrs. Brown - Third Vice President
Mrs. Jno. Hyndman - Fourth Vice President
Mrs. A. F. McClellan - Recording Secretary
Mrs. Nollen - Corresponding Secretary
Miss B. J. Heiman - Treasurer
Mrs. F. I. Nevill - Historian
Mrs. M. E. Davis - Registrar
Mrs. Mullenix – Parliamentarian

Honorary Members

R. F. Noble
Mrs. Wharten Bates
Mrs. Hattie S. Hatch
Dick Dowling, UCV

Names of Members Who have Changed Names

Miss Viola Bond to Mrs. B. J. Heiman


Allen, Jessie G., Mrs.
Ames, R. H., Mrs.
Arnold, A. C, Mrs.
Arnold, G. Lock,
Atkinson, E. E., Mrs.
Atkinson, Margaret, Mrs.
Baines, Harpsy, Mrs.
Baker, Mable, Mrs.
Bard, Rosa, Mrs.
Bates, E. B., Mrs.
Baugh, Mrs.
Birmingham, F. A., Mrs.
Bishop, Annie, Mrs.
Black, Allen, Mrs.
Bonner, F. B., Mrs.
Bottler, Will, Mrs.
Brown, A. S., Mrs.
Campbell, J. W., Mrs.
Carlisle, Marshall, Mrs.
Carter, Edna, Mrs.
Carter, S. F., Mrs.
Clark, Lucy, Mrs.
Coffman, Irene, Mrs.
Collins, Mattie T., Mrs.
Cook, Irma, Mrs.
Cook, J. W., Mrs.
Craig, Leila, Mrs.
Davidson, Ben, Mrs.
Davis, C. E., Mrs.
Davis, Mary, G., Mrs.
Day, Ballard, Mrs.
DeMoss, L. W., Mrs.
Denman, Frances, Mrs.
Drane, Mrs.
Draper, Jack, Mrs.
Drennan, Julia, Miss
Eldridge, Lizzy, Mrs.
Evans, Ruby, Mrs.
Farmer, Lecile, Miss
Foster, G. W., Mrs.
Gambatti, Mary, Mrs.
Garrett, M., Mrs.
Gordon, C. C., Mrs.
Grassmuck, Gertrude, Miss
Gunn, J. H., Mrs.
Hardy, J. W., Mrs.
Harris, G. R., Mrs.
Harris, Mamie, Mrs.
Haskell, E. W., Mrs.
Hatch, Hattie, Mrs.
Heiman, B. J., Mrs.
Hennesey, May, Mrs.
Herbert, C., Mrs.
Herbert, Tom, Mrs.
Hess, Maud, Mrs.
Hoover, B. S., Mrs.
Hoover, Martha, Mrs.
Houston, S. H., Mrs.
Hyndman, Annie, Mrs.
Inkes, R., Mrs.
Jenkins, Wessie, Miss
Johnson, A. S., Mrs.
Johnson, Vada, Mrs.
Karr, J. S., Mrs.
Kaufhold, Bettie, Mrs.
King, N. B., Mrs.
King, N. J., Mrs.
Knolle, B. B., Mrs.
Koenig, Fredie, Mrs.
LaRue, E. D., Mrs.
Love, W. L., Mrs.
Matthews, S. P., Mrs.
McClellan, Bertie, Mrs.
McDonald, Virginia D., Mrs.
McWhorter, D., Mrs.
Moore, Annie, Mrs.
Morris, Mrs.
Mullenix, Mrs.
Napier, W. S., Mrs.
Neal, Carrie, Miss
Nevill, F. I., Mrs.
Nolen, Mrs.
Norris, N., Mrs.
Officer, Mrs.
Otto, W., Mrs.
Porter, R., Mrs.
Prince, E. G., Mrs.
Redwood, Richard, Mrs.
Reynolds, Will, Mrs.
Rogers, Mrs.
Rogers, J. P., Mrs.
Sandel, J., Mrs.
Shultz, Mae, Mrs.
Smith, Dan, Mrs.
Smith, Dixie, Mrs.
Spann, J., Mrs.
Staples, Mrs.
Stevens, Bettie, Mrs.
Tarver Nellie, Mrs.
Taylor, W. W., Mrs.
Thompson, J. H., Mrs.
Turner, R. S., Mrs.
Washichek, Mrs.
Whitten, Mattie, Mrs.
Wilkinson, J. W., Mrs.
Williams, J. P., Mrs.
Wilson, Tom, Mrs.
Zumwalt, M. A., Mrs.
dixie bar

Return to Main Page

This webpage was created on 2 Sept 2006 and was last revised on 15 Sep 2008

Copyright © 2006 - All rights reserved

On 12 July 1994 our name "United Daughters of the Confederacy" was officially approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States and may not be used without the express written permission of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, 328 North Boulevard, Richmond,
VA 23220-4057.

On 26 July 1994 our insignia (logo) was also approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States. Therefore they are not to be used without permission and when displayed must have the copyright symbol. As stated in the 1997 UDC Bylaws on page 41, Article 34 Insignia Section 2, a & b.

Webmaster & Website Owner - Lynna Kay Shuffield