UDC logo

Oran M. Roberts

Oran M. Roberts

Chapter 440

United Daughters of the Confederacy®

Houston, Harris County, Texas

dixie bar

of the
22nd Annual Convention of the Texas Division
United Daughters of the Confederacy

Longview, Texas
23-25 October 1917

Mrs. Oscar Barthold, President
Mrs. Mathias Menger, Secretary

Oran M. Roberts Chapter, No. 440, Houston, Texas

Chapter Report [p. 126-127]

Felt very much honored by our president, Mrs. Wilkinson, having been elected State Historian; held 12 regular, 9 historical and 2 called meetings; sent 6 floral wreaths and 8 laurel to homes of our bereaved members and veterans.

Our chairman of sick committee has made 31 visits to sick veterans; have bestowed several crosses of honor and have more applications; paid all pledges and state and national dues; observed the various anniversaries; we assisted our sister chapter Decoration Day, observed with services at First Presbyterian Church.

In various ways we have raised funds; a cake and candy sale cleared $33.40; lunch stand during woman’s fair, $28.20; benefit performance at Majestic Theatre, $313.30; total, $374.90; giving a banquet for Y.M.B.L., Mrs. Noble, chairman finances, raised $73 to apply on Baugh fund, making total of $83.

A New Years reception in honor of our bride members; a reception for our president who left for her home in San Antonio. Also presented her a UDC pin in appreciation of her untiring efforts in behalf of the Chapter.

Participated in loyalty parade with Confederate Veterans in their annual celebration of the Battle of Sabine Pass; Mrs. Knoble and Mrs. Neville, 2 members, as chairmen, assisted by Mr. Bailey of Houston Post, raised enough money to send 65 Veterans to reunion.

Members at last report 114; honorary members 5; present membership 114.


Mrs. B. B. Knolle - President
Mrs. Mrs. W. W. Taylor - First Vice President
Mrs. Hattie S. Hatch - Second Vice President
Mrs. John Hyndman - Third Vice President
Mrs. S. A. Brown - Fourth Vice President
Mrs. A. F. McClellan - Recording Secretary
Mrs. Lucy Clark - Corresponding Secretary
Miss Viola Bond - Treasurer
Mrs. F. I. Nevill - Historian
Mrs. R. H. Ames - Registrar

Honorary Members

Mrs. R. F. Noble
Mrs. Oran M. Roberts
Mrs. T. W. House
Dick Dowling, UCV

Names of Members Who have Changed Names

Miss Myrtis Karr now Mrs. Will Reynolds
Miss Viola Bradfield now Mrs. Officer


Ames, Ellen G., Mrs.
Arnold, A. C., Mrs.
Arnold, G. L., Mrs.
Arnold, V. G., Mrs.
Atkinson, Margaret, Mrs.
Baker, Mabel, Mrs.
Baird, Rosa, Mrs.
Barnes, Mamie, Mrs.
Bates, E. B., Mrs.
Baugh, J. T., Mrs.
Beavins, Louisa, Mrs.
Bell, A. C., Mrs.
Berryman, Louise, Miss
Birmingham, B., Mrs.
Black, Alex., Mrs.
Bonner, B. F., Mrs.
Bottler, Will, Mrs.
Bradfield, Viola, Mrs.
Breedlove, Stella, Mrs.
Brown, S. A., Mrs.
Burns, Lula, Mrs.
Campbell, J. W., Mrs.
Carlisle, M. D., Mrs.
Carter, H. B., Mrs.
Carter, S. F., Mrs.
Christwell, Jennie, Miss
Clark, Lucy, Mrs.
Cleveland, J. W., Mrs.
Coffman, Irene, Miss
Collier, Jennie, Mrs.
Collins, M. A., Mrs.
Collins, N. T., Mrs.
Conway, M. A., Mrs.
Cook, J. W., Mrs.
Cotney, H., Mrs.
Cotney, Susye, Miss
Courson, Frankie, Mrs.
Davidson, Ben, Mrs.
Davis, C. E., Mrs.
Davis, M. E., Mrs.
DeMoss, J. W., Mrs.
Denman, F. W., Mrs.
Draper, Bessie B., Mrs.
Drennan, Julia, Miss
Evans, Ruby, Mrs.
Gambatti, Mary, Mrs.
Gibbs, Ida, Miss
Gordon, C. C., Mrs.
Guinn, J. G., Mrs.
Harris, G. R., Mrs.
Harris, Mamie G., Mrs.
Haskell, E. W., Mrs.
Hatch, Hattie S., Mrs.
Hennesy, May, Mrs.
Herbert, J. C., Mrs.
Herbert, T. R., Mrs.
Hess, Maud, Mrs.
Holston, Y. M., Mrs.
Hoover, Beverly, Mrs.
Houston, S. H., Mrs.
Huey, C. L., Mrs.
Hughes, Lola, Mrs.
Hunter, Evelyn, Mrs.
Hyndman, John, Mrs.
Iankes, Annie, Mrs.
Jenkins, Wessie, Miss
Johnston, A. S., Mrs.
Johnston, Voda, Mrs.
Karr, J. S., Mrs.
Karr, Myrtis, Miss
Kaufhold, Bettie, Mrs.
King, W. B., Mrs.
King, W. J., Mrs.
Knolle, B. B., Mrs.
LaRue, E. D., Mrs.
Love, W. L., Mrs.
Marshall, Amazon, Mrs.
Mathee, Aubry, Miss
Mathee, W. A., Mrs.
McClellan, Birdie, Mrs.
McWooten, Dulie, Mrs.
Miller, H. C., Mrs.
Moon, Annie, Mrs.
Mullinix, S. O., Mrs.
Murdock, L. W., Mrs.
Napier, W. S., Mrs.
Nevill, F. I., Mrs.
Neville, F. J., Mrs.
Nolen, Felix, Mrs.
Ohlre, T. J., Mrs.
Otto, M. D., Mrs.
Paine, Lovie May, Mrs.
Porter, Marion P., Mrs.
Prince, E. G., Mrs.
Rogers, Angelina S., Mrs.
Rogers, J. T., Mrs.
Sammon, Eva, Mrs.
Sandell, Jeneva, Mrs.
Schlutz, May, Mrs.
Shepler, Emma, Mrs.
Smith, Dan, Mrs.
Smith, Dixie, Mrs.
Spain, Kate, Mrs.
Stephens, Bettie R., Mrs.
Stewart, R. S., Mrs.
Swope, Mary, Mrs.
Tarver, Nellie H., Mrs.
Taylor, W. W., Mrs.
Thompson, Ethel, Mrs.
Turner, R. S., Mrs.
Wilkinson, Minnie, Mrs.
Williams, J. P., Mrs.
Worsham, Annie, Mrs.
Zumwalt, M. A., Mrs.
dixie bar

Return to Main Page

This webpage was created on 1 Sept 2006 and was last revised on 15 Sep 2008

Copyright © 2006 - All rights reserved

On 12 July 1994 our name "United Daughters of the Confederacy" was officially approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States and may not be used without the express written permission of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, 328 North Boulevard, Richmond,
VA 23220-4057.

On 26 July 1994 our insignia (logo) was also approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States. Therefore they are not to be used without permission and when displayed must have the copyright symbol. As stated in the 1997 UDC Bylaws on page 41, Article 34 Insignia Section 2, a & b.

Webmaster & Website Owner - Lynna Kay Shuffield