UDC logo

Oran M. Roberts

Oran M. Roberts

Chapter 440

United Daughters of the Confederacy®

Houston, Harris County, Texas

of the
19th Annual Convention of the Texas Division
United Daughters of the Confederacy

El Paso, Texas
27-30 October 1914

Mrs. Charles Leland Hamil, President
Mrs. R. S. Mills, Secretary

Oran M. Roberts Chapter, No. 440, Houston, Texas

In Memoriam [p. 46]

Mrs. J. M. Gibson
Mrs. T. W. House, Honorary
Mrs. Martha Shields

Chapter Report [p. 126]

We have had a most successful year, having held 12 historical and 18 Chapter meetings, observed all anniversaries and bestowed 15 Crosses of Honor.

In February a Committee, composed of Mrs. B. B. Knolle, Chairman, Mrs. Jno. Hyndman and Mrs. F. I. Nevill, ably assisted by other members of the Chapter, gave a Majestic benefit performance to replenish our depleted treasury, succeeding beyond our fondest hopes and clearing $323.65.

In April, under the Chairmanship of Mrs. Whit Boyd, we sold miniature battle flags, realizing $355.20, to assist in sending our Veterans to Jacksonville reunion.

Observed Memorial Day by placing Confederate flags on the graves of our dear departed dead. Have sent 11 laurel wreaths to Veterans who have answered the last roll call and a number of floral pieces to members of Chapter.

Have lost two members by death, one being our First Vice President. Three have been transferred. Have received two new members and recently revised our roster, leaving a total of 107 voting members and 8 honorary.

Paid all pledges and sent delegates to Convention. Sold three Dixie calendars.

Were ably assisted by the Robert E. Lee, our sister Chapter, in celebrating the Battle of Sabine Pass, by an annual basket picnic at Colonial Park, given to Dick Dowling Camp and their friends from neighboring towns.

And last, but not least, have joined the buy-a-bale movement and purchased a bale of cotton from a Harris county widow.


Mrs. Will Hansen - President
Mrs. B. B. Knolle - First Vice President
Mrs. Hattie S. Hatch - Second Vice President
Mrs. Uvalde Burns - Third Vice President
Mrs. Sam T. Steele - Fourth Vice President
Mrs. F. I. Nevill - Recording Secretary
Mrs. Esther Taylor - Corresponding Secretary
Mrs. A. McClellan - Treasurer
Mrs. J. W. Wilkinson - Historian
Mrs. M. E. Davis - Registrar
Mrs. Whit Boyd - Musical Director

Honorary Members

R. F. Noble
Mrs. Oran M. Roberts
Mrs. T. W. House
Mrs. M. A. Perry
Mrs. Geo. A. Perry
Mrs. T. C. Rowe,
Mrs. J. H. Thompson
Dick Dowling, UCV

Names of Members Who have Changed Names

Mrs. Esther B. Garrett to Mrs. Esther Taylor


Allen, Jessie Gordon, Mrs.
Arnold, A. C., Mrs.
Arnold, G. Lock, Mrs.
Atkinson, E. E., Mrs.
Atkinson, Margaret, Mrs.
Baker, Mabel, Mrs.
Baird, Rosa, Mrs.
Bates, E. B., Mrs.
Beavers, Levina, Mrs.
Birmingham, F. A., Mrs.
Bishop, Anna, Mrs.
Black, Allen, Mrs.
Bonner, B. F., Mrs.
Bordenhamer, Bettie, Mrs.
Boyd, Whit, Mrs.
Bradfield, Viola, Miss
Brown, A. S., Mrs.
Burns, Uvalde, Mrs.
Campbell, J. W., Mrs.
Carlisle, Marshall, Mrs.
Carter, Edna, Mrs.
Carter, S. F., Mrs.
Clark, Lucy, Mrs.
Coffman, Irene, Mrs.
Collins, Mattie Taylor, Mrs.
Cook, j. W., Mrs.
Craig, Leila, Mrs.
Criswell, Jennie, Miss
Davidson, Ben, Mrs.
Davis, Charles E., Mrs.
Davis, Mary Ghent, Mrs.
Day, Ballard, Mrs.
DeMoss, L. W., Mrs.
Denman, Frances, Mrs.
Denman, Julia, Miss
Eldridge, E. A., Mrs.
Eldridge, Lizzie, Mrs.
Evans, Ruby, Mrs.
Farmer, Lucile, Mrs.
Foster, G. W., Mrs.
Gambatti, Mary, Mrs.
Garrett, Esther, Mrs.
Garrett, M., Mrs.
Gordon, C. C., Mrs.
Guinn, J. H., Mrs.
Hansen, Will, Mrs.
Hardy, J. W., Mrs.
Harris, Glendon Risley, Mrs.
Harris, Mamie, Mrs.
Haskell, E. W., Mrs.
Hatch, Hattie S., Mrs.
Hennesey, May, Mrs.
Hess, Maud, Mrs.
Hoover, Beverly S., Mrs.
Hoover, J. S., Mrs.
Hoover, Martha, Mrs.
Huston, S. H., Mrs.
Hyndman, Annie, Mrs.
Iankes, Robert, Mrs.
Jenkins, Wessie, Miss
Johnson, A. S., Mrs.
Johnson, Vada, Mrs.
Karr, J. S., Mrs.
Karr, Myrtis, Miss
Kaufhold, Bettie, Mrs.
King, N. J., Mrs.
King, W. B., Mrs.
Knolle, B. B., Mrs.
Koenig, Freddie, Mrs.
LaRue, E. D., Mrs.
Love, W. L., Mrs.
Matthews, S. P., Mrs.
McClendon, Birtie, Mrs.
McLaughlin, Mary, Miss
McWorter, Drulie, Mrs.
Moore, Annie, Mrs.
Murdock, L. W., Mrs.
Napier, W. S., Mrs.
Neal, Carrie, Miss
Nevill, F. I., Mrs.
Noble, R. F., Mrs.
Norris, Niel, Mrs.
Otto, W. D., Mrs.
Porter, R., Mrs.
Prince, E. G., Mrs.
Redwood, Richard, Mrs.
Reichardt, E. C., Mrs.
Rooke, Henry, Mrs.
Sandel, Jevina, Mrs.
Shultze, Mae, Mrs.
Smith, Dan, Mrs.
Smith, Dixie, Mrs.
Spann, J., Mrs.
Steele, S. T., Mrs.
Steinet, Will, Mrs.
Stevens, Bettie, Mrs.
Swisher Imogene, Mrs.
Tarver, Nellie H., Mrs.
Thompson, J. H., Mrs.
Thompson, Nita, Mrs.
Turner, R. S., Mrs.
Washichek, Mrs.
Whitten, Mattie E., Mrs.
Wilkinson, J. W., Mrs.
Williams, J. P., Mrs.
Williams, Mamie, Miss
Zumwalt, M. A., Mrs.

dixie bar

Return to Main Page

This webpage was created on 1 Sep 2006 and was last revised on 15 Sept 2008

Copyright © 2006 - All rights reserved

On 12 July 1994 our name "United Daughters of the Confederacy" was officially approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States and may not be used without the express written permission of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, 328 North Boulevard, Richmond,
VA 23220-4057.

On 26 July 1994 our insignia (logo) was also approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States. Therefore they are not to be used without permission and when displayed must have the copyright symbol. As stated in the 1997 UDC Bylaws on page 41, Article 34 Insignia Section 2, a & b.

Webmaster & Website Owner - Lynna Kay Shuffield