UDC logo

Oran M. Roberts

Oran M. Roberts

Chapter 440

United Daughters of the Confederacy®

Houston, Harris County, Texas

dixie bar

of the
13th Annual Convention of the Texas Division
United Daughters of the Confederacy

Terrell, Texas
1, 2, 3, & 4 December 1908

Oran M. Roberts Chapter, No. 440, Houston

[Chapter Report - p. 98]

In Memoriam

Annie Tambath
Mrs. Louis Welton Worsham
Mrs. Jessie Gordon
Mrs. Crump


Mrs. Wharton Bates - President
Mrs. J. M. Gibson - 1st Vice President
Mrs. Hattie Hatch - 2nd Vice President
Mrs. R. F. Noble - 3rd Vice President
Mrs. Sydney Huston - 4th Vice President
Mrs. Welton Worsham - Recording Secretary
Mrs. M. C. Otto - Corresponding Secretary
Mrs. S. T. Steele - Historian
Mrs. Arthur McClellan - Treasurer
Mrs. Kate Hansen - Registrar

Honorary Members

Miss Adelia Dunovant, Honorary President
Mrs. Oran M. Roberts
Mrs. Mary Blaney
Dick Dowling Camp UCV
Mrs. T. W. House
Miss Helen Sales
Mrs. T. C. Rowe

Has held during the year 1907 and 1908 all regular meetings.

Our Historian, Mrs. S. T. Steele, has efficiently carried out the programs furnished by the State Historian. There historical meetings are well and enthusiastically attended. Have celebrated the birthdays of General Lee and President Davis, on which occasion eleven Crosses of Honor were presented. Have sent floral offerings to all members and veterans, who have left our ranks. Have assisted many charities. It is known that those in need apply not in vain to the Oran M. Roberts Chapter. We have enlarged our Chapter this year with the addition of 19 members.

In regard to finances. Our greatest undertaking was the famous game of baseball between the Fats and Leans. On this occasion, we cleared over $200. Several other affairs were given and small amounts realized. We are now prepared to fulfill all pledges and our delegates are so empowered.


Albert, F. H., Mrs.
Allman, S., Mrs.
Arnold, A. C., Mrs.
Arnold, G. L., Mrs.
Atkinson, E. E., Mrs.
Atkinson, Margaret H., Mrs.
Aubin, C. L., Mrs.
Ballard, May, Miss
Bastian, Mamie, Miss
Bates, Eliza B., Mrs.
Beall, Mary L., Miss
Beavans, C. C., Mrs.
Beavans, Emily, Miss
Beavans, Massie, Mrs.
Bedford, R., Mrs.
Black, C. W., Mrs.
Blaffer, Lucile, Miss
Blaney, M. A., Mrs.
Bonner, R. F., Mrs.
Bottler, Will, Mrs.
Breedlove, Stella O., Mrs.
Brown, Edna, R., Mrs.
Bruce, Annie, Miss
Burks, Lindley, Mrs.
Bruce, Sydney, T., Mrs.
Bruce, Virginia, Miss
Bruner, Jennie, Miss
Brown, S. A., Mrs.
Brumby, W. M., Mrs.
Bullard, L. H., Mrs.
Bullitt, A. C., Mrs.
Burns, Lula R., Mrs.
Byers, J. W., Mrs.
Byrd, M. J., Mrs.
Cabiness, Annie, Miss
Calhoun, W. E., Mrs.
Calvert, L. G., Mrs.
Campbell, Mrs.
Carter, S. F., Mrs.
Chapman, Della, Mrs.
Cleveland, J. W., Mrs.
Clower, F. C., Mrs.
Clower, Jessie H., Miss
Cohen, L. L., Mrs.
Collins, M. A., Mrs.
Collins, Maggie, Miss
Conway, M. A., Mrs.
Corrigan, Mattie, Mrs.
Cotney, Susie, Mrs.
Criswell, Jennie, Miss
Daniel, F. V., Mrs.
Daniel, Maggie, Miss
Davis, L. A., Mrs.
Davis, Willie A., Mrs.
Dean, H. A., Mrs.
Erichson, Oscar, Mrs.
Evans, Ruby, Mrs.
Farmer, Lucile
Fergusan, Mary A., Mrs.
Ferguson, Robert, Mrs.
Gambati, Annie, Miss
Garrison, Beatrice, Mrs.
Garrot, Margaret
Gay, Maggie, Miss
Gibson, J. H., Mrs.
Gordon, C. C., Mrs.
Gordon, Jessie T., Miss
Gordon, Sherley, Mrs.
Gregory, Will, Mrs.
Griffiths, T. P., Mrs.
Guinn, J. H., Mrs.
Hamilton, George, Mrs.
Harris, Mamie, Mrs.
Hefferman, Nelson, Mrs.
Hobby, Edwin, Mrs.
Hobby, Laura, Mrs.
(Note: There seems to be a gap in the membership names printed in the Minutes Book as it skips from Hobby to Sayers. There also seems to be a number of “S” surnames missing.)
Sayers, Tom Green, Mrs.
Schiller, Jewel, Mrs.
Shepler, C., Miss
Shotwell, William, Mrs.
Staples, Angelina Holland
Starles, Mary V., Miss
Stuart, R. S., Mrs.
Stephens, Elizabeth, Miss
Stephens, Kate, Miss
Swope, Tom, Mrs.
Thacker, Victoria, Miss
Thompson, Elizabeth, Mrs.
Thompson, Ethel, Mrs.
Thompson, J. H., Mrs.
Towles, Bertha, Miss
Tryon, Caroline, Miss
White, Lotta, Mrs.
Whitmarsh, Etta, Miss
Wilkinson, Minnie, Mrs.
Williams, Madie, Miss
Williams, J. P., Mrs.
Wilson, Jennie, Mrs.
Wing, William, Mrs.
Zumwalt, M. A., Mrs.

New Members

Anderson, Laura T., Mrs.
Baldinger, E., Mrs.
Birmingham, T. F., Mrs.
Crump, G. W., Mrs.
DeMoss, J. D., Mrs.
Dodge, C. P., Mrs.
Hansen, Kate, Mrs.
Huston, Sydney, Mrs.
Kanfold (Kaufold), Freddie, Miss
Otto, Max, Mrs.
Perry, George A., Mrs.
Prince, E. T., Mrs.
Snyder, R. E., Mrs.
Whitten, Aubra, Miss
Whitten, Mattie, Miss
Woods, Maud Lee, Miss

dixie bar

Return to Main Page

This webpage was created on 4 Feb 2008 and was last revised on _____________

Copyright © 2008 - All rights reserved

On 12 July 1994 our name "United Daughters of the Confederacy" was officially approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States and may not be used without the express written permission of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, 328 North Boulevard, Richmond,
VA 23220-4057.

On 26 July 1994 our insignia (logo) was also approved by the Patent Trademark Office of the United States. Therefore they are not to be used without permission and when displayed must have the copyright symbol. As stated in the 1997 UDC Bylaws on page 41, Article 34 Insignia Section 2, a & b.

Webmaster & Website Owner - Lynna Kay Shuffield