Star TXGenWeb Project Star USGenWeb Project Star

Milam County, Texas - Public Officials

County Attorneys, 1869-1990

County Attorneys

N. P. Garrett1869-1876
E. L. Anthony1876-1878
Francis M. Adams1878-1879
T. S. Henderson1879-1882
D. D. Wallace1882-1886
R. I. McCalla1886-1888
J. M. Ralston1888-1892
J. H. Freeman1892-1896
W. S. Haval1896-1900
W. W. Chambers1900-1904
A. G. Little1904-1906
Sam Little1906-1908
W. W. Chambers1908-1916
Roy Baskin1916-1920
Andrew Jackson "A. J." Lewis
[Note: He also served as Milam County Sheriff]

NOTE: In 1932, the County Attorney became the Criminal District Attorney

Criminal District Attorneys

E. B. Camp1932-1938
W. A. Morrison
(Resigned, appointed Ed Gunn)
Ed Gunn1942-1946
W. A. Morrison1947-1949
Ed Gunn1949-1950
J. W. (Jim) Miller1950-1954
Robert C. (Bob) Nelson1954-1960
Jack Prescott1960-1964
John B. Henderson, Jr.1964-1972
Charles C. Smith, Jr.1972-1976
John B. Henderson, Jr.1977-1980
Mark Humble1980-1987
Jan Alan Behr
(Resigned, appointed Hollis Lewis)
Hollis Lewis1990-19___
Kerry Spears2004

SOURCE: Register of State and County Officers, 1836-1945. Austin, TX: Office of the Secretary of State.

SOURCE: Lengert, Margaret Eleanor, The History of Milam County (1949) [unpublished M.A. thesis, University of Texas (Austin)] (on file with The Library of the University of Texas at Austin).

SOURCE: Allison, Dorothy, History of the Milam County Courthouses, 1822-1991, Cameron, TX: Milam County Historical Museum, 1991.

BACK to Milam County TXGenWeb Page

Created on 2 July 2001 and last revised on 2 Aug 2004