Star TXGenWeb Project Star USGenWeb Project Star

Milam County, Texas - Historical Markers


First Presbyterian Church of Maysfield

[Click Here to See Full Size Image]

Photograph by Milam County Deputy Sheriff Greg Kouba &
Milam County Deputy Sheriff Reese Lockett - 25 July 2003

Marker TitleFirst Presbyterian Church of Maysfield
AddressFM 485 N & CR 254
Year Marker Erected1973
Text on MarkerOrganized in August 1873 by the Rev. Levi Tenney (1823-1907), with nine members. One of two original ruling elders was early settler T. N. Mayes (1812-1891), donor of townsite of Maysfield, which was named for him. The congregation erected this building, its first, in 1883; it was dedicated in 1884 by Dr. S. A. King of Waco. The first resident pastor (1886) was the Rev. J. K. P. Newton (1843-1898). This church has furnished three ministers to Arkansas, Georgia, and Texas Presbyteries: The Rev. Henry M. Bailey, Dr. C. Edgar Newton, and the Rev. James W. Newton.
SourceTexas Historical Commission's Texas Historic Sites Atlas Database - July 2003


BACK to Milam County Historical Markers

BACK to Milam County TXGenWeb Page

Created on 26 July 2003 and last revised on 20 Apr 2004.